top of page

Atomic Habits Book Review


I just finished Atomic Habits by James Clear. This book teaches you about atomic, or small, habits that make a big difference in the long run. This book also teaches you how to start new, better habits using four simple steps. These steps are: (1) How can I make it obvious, (2) how can I make it attractive, (3) how can I make it easy, and (4) how can I make it satisfying? In this post, I will be going over some of my favorite points and biggest takeaways from Atomic Habits.



The power of tiny habits

In Atomic Habits, Clear writes about what a big effect tiny habits have on your long-term results. “Success is the product of daily habits—not once-in-a-lifetime transformations.” Your day is made up of so many little habits you don’t even think about. Reading this book really helped me evaluate what I am doing and how I’m spending my time.


Starting new habits

Chapter 5 talks about starting new habits. Clear gives some great insight on an exercise called habit stacking. The gist of the exercise is that you put a new habit right after an already established habit. “After [CURRENT HABIT], I will [NEW HABIT].” This way you are more likely to remember the habit you are trying to form.


Sticking with good habits

Sticking with good habits every day can sometimes feel so tedious. In Atomic Habits, we learn the best tricks to sticking with good habits until they are just as ingrained as our bad habits.“Never miss twice. If you miss one day, try to get back on track as quickly as possible.”


The key to continuing good habits

Atomic Habits talks about how it’s not always a lack of motivation when you aren’t sticking with or creating good habits, it might just be an unconducive environment. “It is easier to build new habits in a new environment because you are not fighting against old cues.” Trying to create new habits in your bedroom, for example, where you sleep and relax is hardly an environment where new habits will thrive and continue. I’m not saying that no matter what you can’t form new habits in a comfortable place, it’ll just be harder to continue the habits.


Fixing bad habits

To fix bad habits, you must reverse the 2nd law of behavior change. Make it unattractive. “Highlight the benefits of avoiding a bad habit to make it seem unattractive.” Associate your bad habits with something that you dislike. For example, if I hit snooze, I can’t or won’t have time for a cup of coffee before work.


Least effort

“Reduce the friction associated with good behaviors. When friction is low, habits are easy.” We, as humans, are constantly looking for the easiest way to do things. The same should go with forming your new habits. Make them easy and simple to complete. With bad habits, do the exact opposite, make them hard and not worth your time. This is where habit stacking comes into play.



Conclusion

Atomic Habits has definitely given me a great overview of the way I am living my life. When practiced right, these tricks to starting new habits can have immeasurable benefits. It’s your turn now. I challenge you to make the most out of these points and start your own atomic habits. “Habits + Deliberate Practice = Mastery”



bottom of page